A New Home and New Tunes

March 13, 2010 at 5:48 am | Posted in music | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

A quick link to photos of my new (although only temporary) flat in London – The flat is a bit older than the place I was before but much more cozy. My flatmate has lived there 10 years and it has been filled with books and photos and musical instruments and bits and bobs throughout the years so that everywhere you look there are at least 5 interesting things that catch your eye. It is quite charming in an old, quaint sort of way and I love the clutter and the randomness of it all. The wallpaper is peeling off the walls in a few places and the doors don’t shut all the way and the wooden plank flooring creaks wherever you go, but I am enamored by it. I feel like you could write a whole book just about this one house…it is fascinating!

Coincidentally, when I opened up my WordPress dashboard to write this very post, another title caught my eye  from Kenwoode. You see, I have a strong appreciation for creative/funny/witty/interesting names…books, recipes, songs, companies, pub quiz teams and especially bands. This summer in London at the local pub I saw a flier for perhaps the best band name ever… We Were Promised Jetpacks. I always wanted to see them despite the fact I had never heard their music, but I thought with a name like that they HAD to be entertaining to say the least.

I have since decided that I do indeed like them, but Kenwoode’s blog post title introduced me to a new band I just might develop an addiction to – Mumford & Sons. Turns out they are even playing this very night at Shepherd’s Bush Empire in London….but of course to a sold out crowd.

Check them out though, and all the videos on Kenwoode’s post are definitely worth a watch.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.